Thursday, 14 November 2013

Black Sabbath win big at Classic Rock awards

BLACK Sabbath are the big winners at this year's Classic Rock Roll Of Honour, walking away with three top gongs.

The veteran rockers landed the Living Legend Award, while also winning Album of the Year for 13 and Event of the Year for hitting number one around the world with the album, including their biggest ever hit in the US.

Manic Street Preachers founding member and guitarist James Dean Bradfield picked up the MusiciansUnion Maestro Award, The Virginmarys were the winners of the Breakthrough Award and the late Irish guitar legend Rory Gallagher was honoured with the Tommy Vance Inspiration Award.

The awards at the Roundhouse in Camden, London, also saw legendary manager, film producer and humanitarian Shep Gordon recognised with theVIP Award. For more than 40 years, Shep has managed Alice Cooper and along the way has helped to sculpt the careers of a whole host of friends in the entertainment industry. 

Winners of five reader-voted categories were also announced through the evening. 

As well as Sabbath's Best Album nod, The Temperance Movement were voted Best New Band, while Band of the Year went to the Rolling Stones after their sell-out Hyde Park gigs and Glastonbury headlining slot. Fellow rock legends Fleetwood Mac and Led Zeppelin were also winners picking up Re-issue Of The Year for Rumours  35th Anniversary Edition and Film Of The Year for Celebration Day respectively.

Finally, closing the night with a red-hot performance, The Darkness walked away with the Showmen Award. 

Classic Rock Magazines Editor-in-Chief Scott Rowley said: “This year's winners are a who's who of British pioneers, from Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, the Stones and Fleetwood Mac winning the popular vote to John Mayall, Mott The Hoople and Wilko Johnson honoured in our special awards. 

"And with The Temperance Movement and Virginmarys coming through there's still hope for the future of British rock too.”

The full list of winners is: 
The Living Legend Award (sponsored by Orange Amplification Black Sabbath
Event Of The Year (sponsored by Roadrunner Black Sabbath go to #1 spot
Breakthrough Award  Virginmarys
The Musicians Union Maestro  James Dean Bradfield
Tommy Vance Inspiration Award (sponsored by Spinefarm Records Rory Gallagher
Outstanding Contribution (sponsored by Monitor Audio Mott the Hoople
Classic Album (sponsored by Eagle Rock Blues Breakers With Eric Clapton  John Mayall
V.I.P. Award (sponsored by Shep Gordon
Metal Guru (sponsored by Mascot Label Group Zakk Wylde
Best New Band (sponsored by Kraken The Temperance Movement
Album Of The Year (sponsored by Live Nation Black Sabbath 13
Reissue Of The Year (sponsored by Alchemy Fleetwood Mac Rumours 35th Anniversary Edition
Film Of The Year   Led Zeppelin Celebration Day
Band Of The Year (sponsored by Investec The Rolling Stones
Spirit Of Prog (sponsored by USM / UMC Alex Lifeson
The Showmen  The Darkness
Innovator  Wilko Johnson

No comments:

Post a Comment