Wednesday, 4 September 2013

Bragg wins top award at AIM Awards

Outstanding...Billy Bragg
THE 2013 Independent Music Awards took place in London’s East End this evening with Billy Bragg, Macklemore, Enter Shikari and Daughter among the winners on the night.

The evening – hosted by BBC 6Music’s Steve Lamacq and BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens – kicked off with a performance from Franz Ferdinand before Richard Hawley presented Lamacq with a Special Recognition Award from the Association of Independent Music (AIM) to mark his 20th year at the BBC.

As Stephens told the audience the night was “about celebrating the community and shining a spotlight on the incredible talent you support”, the awards giving-out got under way in earnest.

First award of the night went to AlcopopRecords for Best Small Label before The XX picked up the Best Difficult Second Album gong for their LP Coexist.

Next up was the Special Catalogue Release of the Year, which was Cherry Red Records’ Scared To Get Happy – A Story Of Indie Pop from 1980 to 1989. This was followed by the Hardest Working Band/Artist gong, which was taken by Frankie & the Heartstrings.

Ghostpoet presented In The Woods with the Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival, before Macklemore and Ryan Lewis scored the Independent Breakthrough of the Year title – the first of two for the Thrift Shop artist.

Recognition...Steve Lamacq
The awards continued to come thick and fast and next up was the Indie Champion Award, which was handed to Gilles Peterson. This was followed by the Independent Video of the Year, which was won by Django Django for WOR.

Next came one of the big awards of the night as Enter Shikari scooped the Best Live Act gong, while Vampire Weekend landed the Independent Track of the Year honour for Diane Young.

Daughter then picked up the coveted Independent Album of the Year for If You Leave, before Macklemore and Ryan Lewis scooped their second honour of the night with the PPL Award for the Most Played New Independent Act.

Then came three of the biggest awards of the night. First up was Independent Label of the Year, which was won by Warp.

Pioneer...Geoff Travis
Then came the Pioneer Award, which was won by Rough Trade founder Geoff Travis, who not only received two standing ovations from the audience, but also got a tribute film from Pussy Riot from outside The Kremlin.

And the last award of the night was the Outstanding Contribution to Music, which was presented by Glastonbury guru Michael Eavis. Billy Bragg was the recipient and Eavis said: “Billy is an exceptional singer songwriter, born a crusader, and thankfully has used his skills to accompany his political gripes."

Bragg then performed a few tracks including NoOne Knows Nothing Anymore – which he dedicated to the major labels – and finished with A New England before receiving his second standing ovation of the night.

No comments:

Post a comment