Tuesday, 21 January 2014

Germany takes five at Festival Awards

Headliner of the Year...Arctic Monkeys
THE European Festival Awards too place in The Netherlands last week to mark the opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag with the Germans the big winners on the night.

Five awards went to the country including Best Indoor Festival going to Metal Hammer Paradise; Best Line Up for the Berlin Festival; Best Medium-Sized Festival for Melt!; while FKP Scorpio landed Promoter of the Year and Marek Lieberberg - founder of the Rock Am Ring and Rock Im Park Festival getting the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Melt! has this week announced Portishead, R√∂yksopp & Robyn and Haim among their line up for 2014.

The coveted Best Major Festival award for 2013 went to Serbia's EXIT Festival, while Hungary's B.my.Lake took Best New Festival and FUSION, in Romania, took Best Small Festival.

Arctic Monkeys were recognised for their efforts claiming the Headliner Of The Year gong, while Imagine Dragons were Newcomer of the Year. Daft Punk's Get Lucky was named Festival Anthem.

The winners were decided by a combination of more than 62,000 votes from fans and a panel of European Festival Awards judges.

No comments:

Post a comment