Monday, 21 November 2016

Dark Globes to release debut album

SHOEGAZE outfit Dark Globes will release their debut album Everyone I Know Is Falling Apart in the first quarter of 2017.

To celebrate the release, the Southend-on-sea band has shared the video for their track Never Let Me Down.

Dark Globes first came together in a Victorian boozer in the Essex seaside town, evolving around main songwriters Tom Burgess and Leighton Jennings. They played their first show as a three-piece at a local folk festival with no prior rehearsals.

Soon they took on third guitarist Richard Onslow, bassist Andrew Moore (known for his output as The Tumbledryer Babies) and drummer Chris Richardson, who also makes lo-fi pop as Happy Hooves.

One rehearsal later, the band began playing shows and recorded their debut album.

Guitarist Richard told RealSoundsOK: "Everyone I Know Is Falling Apart is the culmination of all our disparate influences - indie heroes Teenage Fanclub, the reverb-drenched melancholy of Yo La Tengo and Galaxie 500 and the precise jangle of Felt – but with a distinctive voice all its own, a sound that takes inspiration from all over, but could only come from the Essex coast."

The album, which is out on March 17th 2017, is the first to be released on the recently resurrected Half Machine Records – known for the debut singles by Real Estate, Woods, Banjo or Freakout and the critically-acclaimed reissue of Roberto Cacciapaglia’s space pop classic The Ann Steel Album.

You can watch the video for Never Let Me Down below and for more on the band visit

No comments:

Post a comment